Crowdfunding – The Implications – ALC203

So here we are, my first real entry to the world of digital media. This is the first episode of ‘Corners of the Internet’ and hopefully it won’t be the last.

When I first started researching the concept of Crowdfunding for this video, I had a pretty good idea of what direction I wanted to take it in. But as I read real peer-reviewed reports, the more I realised how shallow my knowledge really was. So I did what I had hoped I would never have to do in my entire university career. I threw out my 2000 word script and started from scratch. However I feel that viewers of my new video with little knowledge on the subject matter will come out armed with some new knowledge that can empower them as creators in the near future.

One of the things I had been taught early on was that camera quality does not matter. The key idea behind this concept is that if the narrative is strong enough, the video resolution will make no difference. And while I do agree, I felt it necessary to show off some of my production chops by using a Canon 5D Mark II and a RODE Mic for the filming. The main reasoning behind this was that this video (whether I like it or not) is a part of my portfolio now that it is online and so any potential employer that may come across this will see that I have put some effort into production quality as well as narrative quality. I also decided to use mostly my own media to keep the quality consistent and using creative commons material to patch up my shortcomings, for example I sourced my music from Soundcloud as I am not a musician and could not create my own.

I faced many challenges in the making of this video but two stood out more prominently that the others. The first being daylight, trying to keep consistent lighting in all of my shots was a massive problem as I usually could not start filming until after school or work which was unfortunately the same time that the sun came down. I overcame this challenge by filming parts of my video over the course of three weeks and covering up the small lighting changes with overlay footage and colour correction. The second problem and by far the most challenging was a scene included in my original script that was eventually left on the cutting room floor despite my strenuous efforts to see it come to life. Originally, in the middle of the video there was an interview with an expert in the field of crowdfunding which would have answered some of the main questions posed in my video. So I posted on the ‘Deakin Film and Television Club’ Facebook page asking…

A screen capture by Ben Bryan, May 2017

After mere minutes, I got a reply from a crowdfunding consultant who dealt with creators who were trying to improve their crowdfunding game. Unfortunately nothing ever came of this so I was forced to try something else. I contacted a company (who’s name I won’t state here) that dealt with crowdfunding. A face to face interview had been scheduled before being abruptly cancelled by them the hour before the scheduled time. This happened twice more until they eventually just stopped replying to my messages leaving me in the dark. This was disappointing as the interview was an integral part of my piece.

Perhaps the most important thing I learned during the making of this was how much I enjoyed creating digital media. This did not feel like work to me. It felt like a hobby and a passion that I was pursuing, and I hope that comes through in this video.

So without further ado; presenting the first official episode of ‘Corners of the Internet’

Corners of the Internet – Crowdfunding from Ben Bryan on Vimeo.


My Broader ALC203 – Related Online Activity

To say that I started off on a high note would be a falsehood. I struggled to find motivation to participate in the unit activities. However, after receiving the grade my first assessment I realised that I needed to start trying. I began tweeting on a regular basis and heavily engaging online. I feel my highlight from the year was the #IfICouldCrowdfund challenge.

This video got over a thousand media impressions which is more reach than I ever dream possible before engaging in this unit. I feel as though I am more prepared than ever to create digital content online.

 


References

‘A Melbournian Sunset’ a video by Adam Rozanski December 2014 (CC BY 3.0) Retrieved from https://vimeo.com/115380659

‘Good Morning’ a song by LAKEY INSPIRED February 2017(CC BY-SA 3.0) https://soundcloud.com/lakeyinspired/good-morning

‘Manhattan Skyline’ a song by DeeTunez December 2014 (CC BY-SA 3.0) Retrieved from https://soundcloud.com/deetunez/manhattan-skyline

‘Ocean’ A song by DeeTunez November 2014 (CC BY-SA 3.0) Retrieved from https://soundcloud.com/deetunez/ocean-smooth-instrumental-hip-hop

‘Street Dreams’ a song by LAKEY INSPIRED May 2017 (CC BY-SA 3.0) https://soundcloud.com/lakeyinspired/street-dreams

Elizabeth M. Gerber, J. S. H. P.-Y. K., 2012. Crowdfunding: Why People Are Motivated to Post and Fund Projects on Crowdfunding Platforms. 1(1), p. 3.

Griffith, E., 2014. Why startups fail, according to their founders. Fortune, 26 September.

Mollick, E., 2013. The Dynamics of Crowdfunding: An Explatory Study. Journal of Business Venturing, 1(1), p. 13.

Paul Belleframme, T. L. A. S., 2013. Crowdfunding: Tapping the right crowd. Journal of Business Venturing, 1(1), p. 11.

Leave a Reply

